Faculty of Rehabilitative Sciences

profile image


This Faculty of Rehabilitative Sciences has the following departments: Dental Technology, Medical Engineering, Occupational Therapy, Optometry, Physiotherapy and orthopedic Technology.

Department of Dental Technology Dental Technology is a specialty in the field of dentistry that deals with the treatment and rehabilitation of the tissues of the oral cavity and the face. It encompasses the design and fabrication of various prostheses and corrective appliances such as dentures, braces and crowns and bridges.

Department of Medical Engineering The Medical Engineering profession deals with design, manufacture, installation and maintenance of medical and hospital equipment.

Department of Occupational Therapy The department trains its students to identify occupational performance deficits and their causes with an aim to treating injured or disabled patients through the therapeutic use of everyday activities.

Department of Optometry Optometrists perform vision tests and analyze results, diagnose sight problems such as near sightedness or farsightedness, and eye diseases such as glaucoma. They prescribe eyeglasses, contact lenses and other visual aids.

Department of Physiotherapy Physiotherapy is a comprehensive approach to the prevention, diagnosis and therapeutic management of pain and disorders of human movement. The discipline is concerned with helping people restore mobility and wellness after an injury, accident or disability.

Department of Orthopaedic Technology Graduates of this program assess, design and fabricate as well as fit orthopedic appliances used to support, align, prevent or correct deformities of a body part and improve the function of a movable body part. These appliances include prosthetics and orthotics

View Our Programs